HP DL380 G5 running Windows Server 2012 R2

Drivers for 2 unknown devices in device manager:
HP iLO Management Channel Interface Driver (cp019292.exe)
HP ProLiant iLO 2 Management Controller Driver (cp019291.exe)

Other updates:
HP Service Pack for ProLiant (SPP)

P400 warning shown in HP Smart Storage Administrator:
Max Dirty Cache Lines Not Flushed Reached – Warning

本篇發表於 Microsoft Windows。將永久鏈結加入書籤。

21 Responses to HP DL380 G5 running Windows Server 2012 R2

  1. tb 說道:

    Just tried to install 2012 r2 on dl380 g5. Setup fails and automatically reboots. 2012 installs just fine. Sure you installed on a dl380 g5? Any additional steps you made?

    • Eric Tsai 說道:

      How does it fail?
      My DL380 G5 with P400 using RAID5 works fine. BIOS and all firmware are updated in advance in Server 2003.
      BTW, it seems my DVD-ROM doesn’t work, BIOS doesn’t load 2012 R2 setup from DVD.
      So I put DVD extracted files on a disk partition and use 2003 NTLDR to load GRUB then load 2012 R2’s BOOTMGR to start setup.

  2. tb 說道:

    I tested installation from the iso image mounted through ilo, this way setup loads, displays the windows logo, and after a while setup restarts. An error message is displayed, unfortunately until now I was not able to capture the message.
    I also tested first installing windows server 2012 (works fine), and then do an inplace upgrade, this way after the restart setup fails at the same stage.
    I thought that finally the processor of the g5 is incompatible with 2012 r2. But there are a few people like you, which managed to get it installed.

  3. Tyson Navarre 說道:

    I can never seem to get past the part where I need to put in RAID drivers. downloaded and tried them all of HP’s site and nothing will take. We have a P400 controller which I think is the problem.

    • Eric Tsai 說道:

      There is built-in driver for P400 in Server 2012 R2 in hpsamd.inf.
      I remember that someone said upgrading to latest P400 firmware can fix this problem.

  4. johnny Wan 說道:

    I’ve tried to install Windows 2012R2 on a DL380 G5 without any luck. The OS installs from the media fine and sees my logical drives (2 drives RAID 1). On the first reboot after the files have been installed it hangs on the first windows boot screen with the circling dots and both drive LEDs flash on and off. All firmware including the P400 has been upgraded. Also tried Hyper V Server 2012 R2 with the same problem 😦

  5. bb 說道:

    The links to the above drivers don’t work 😦

  6. odarchuk 說道:

    hello
    what about Hyper-V role ain Win2012R2 at DL 380 G5 with E5405 – it’s possible?
    Setup Win2012R2 at DL 380 G5 with Smart Array E200 – it’s possible?

  7. lenz 說道:

    Hi there
    I have managed to install windows 2012 R2 on DL 380 G5 as a VM using ESXI.
    The only issue I have is that the post installation configuration cannot finish because the network adapters are not detected. there is no network drivers for 2012 R2 though. I wonder if it d work using 2008 R2 drivers.
    cheers

  8. John Albrektson 說道:

    Thanks for the info, Erik, your experience has given me to hope to try the same. –John

  9. John Anderson 說道:

    Thanks so much for the help on this page! I installed Windows Server 2012 on my DL380 G5 but I took the precaution of installing a P410 controller prior to installing. I deleted the old array, created a Raid 6 (ADG) array with a spare using the latest SPP, and the install went without a hitch. Elsewhere I discovered that there is a problem with P410 and WS2012 unless you use the very latest firmware, which I updated when I got the P410.

    • Bolo 說道:

      Hi all. I installed Windows Server 2012R2 Update 3 (from MSDN) on my DL380 G5 without problems. Than I installed drivers for iLO2 and managemen soft for iLO and Smart Array p400i from dl380 G6 downloads for Windows 2012R2. After many reboots and Windows Update all work fine.

  10. Asteriksz 說道:

    I can’t find any iLO2 driver for DL380 G5 and Windows 2012 R2. The links given in this article are broken – can you give another, working link, or can you upload somewhere this drivers?

  11. Abdul Majeed 說道:

    Hello Dears,

    Me too stuck on the same, that cannot install Windows Server 2012 R2 on HP ProLiant DL380 G5. Getting stuck with the error The driver is missing. I could install 2008 R2 without any issue.
    I tried to update the firmware of Smart Array P400, but was not success.

    Could you please help me on the same?

    Regards,
    Abdul Majeed

    • Eric Tsai 說道:

      Can you check the hardwar identifier of P400 controller from device manager?
      Make sure you can find the same VEN/DEV/SUBSYS string in Windows\Inf\hpsamd.inf from another 2012 R2 computer.
      If the string matches, I suggest to change RAID type.

  12. Paul den Hertog 說道:

    New download links:
    Driver – System Management: http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/detail?swItemId=MTX_82c4fb5e4227427c91f5912581
    Driver – iLO: http://h20565.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/detail?swItemId=MTX_ac9acce32186499dabb33b08d6

    Regards, Paul
    PS: Had to boot the server with a DVD, iso trough iLO and a USB install didn’t work.

  13. Paul den Hertog 說道:

    New download links:

    Driver – iLO: http://h20565.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/detail?swItemId=MTX_ac9acce32186499dabb33b08d6
    Driver – System Management: http://h20566.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/detail?swItemId=MTX_82c4fb5e4227427c91f5912581

    Regards, Paul

    PS: I had to burn a DVD for the installation, adding drivers trough USB was not nessesary. I’m using a storagepool in server standard as raid setting to experiment. So the raid config is just one disk in raid 0.

發表迴響

